Vivienne Cox

Vivienne Cox CBE

The majority of Vivienne Cox's career has been spent with BP and she has over 28 years of international experience in the oil and gas industry, all with operational/p&l responsibility. She has Chairman experience in both the UK and in France.

Her first roles at BP were commercial, before moving on to their Commodity Derivatives Group and then to their Refining and Supply offices as Chief Executive Benelux, responsible for their shareholding in the Rotterdam refinery. Thereafter she was Commercial Director, BP Central and Eastern Europe for 2 years before being promoted to Chief Executive, Air BP, in 1997. Vivienne moved on 3 years later to become Group Vice President, Integrated Supply and Trading and then BP Executive Vice President and CEO of Gas, Power and Renewables in 2004. Her final executive role was BP Executive Vice President and Chief Executive, Alternative Energy, whilst also being a member of their Executive Committee.

Board Mandates

Vivienne Cox is Chairman of Vallourec SA (since May 2013) as well as being Chair of their Strategy Committee and member of the Finance Committee.

Ms Cox is Senior Independent Director with Pearson plc, where she chairs the Nominations and Governance Committee. She is also a Board Member of Stena AB and Stena International. 

She is Lead Non-Executive Director on the board of DFID as well as being on the board of GSK plc (on their Remuneration Committee and also the Corporate Responsibility Committee).

Ms Cox sat on the INSEAD Board from 2009 to 2013.

She has previously been Non-Executive Chairman for Climate Change Capital (2008-2012), Advisory Board Mainstream (wind developers) (2009-2012), Non-Executive Director Rio Tinto (2005-2014), where she was a member of the Nomination, Audit and CSEA Committees.

She was also a Non-Executive Director of Eurotunnel (1998-2001) and member of their Audit Committee. 


Ms Cox was awarded a CBE in the 2015 New Year's Honours list.

Ms Cox was named Veuve Cliquot Business Woman of the Year in 2007.

She has an Honorary Doctorate from Hull University and an Honorary Degree from the University of  Hertfordshire.

Download this bio as a pdf file

chairman mentors