Denis Ranque

Denis Ranque

Denis Ranque began his career at the French Ministry for Industry, where he held various positions in the energy sector before joining the Thomson Group in 1983 as Planning Director. The following year, he moved to the electron tubes division, first as Director of space business, then, from 1986, as Director of the division's microwave tubes department. Two years later, the electron tubes division became the affiliate Thomson Tubes Electroniques, and Mr Ranque took over as Chief Executive of this subsidiary in 1989. In April 1992, he was appointed Chairman and CEO of Thomson Sintra Activités Sous-marines. Four years later, he became CEO of Thomson Marconi Sonar, the sonar systems joint venture set up by Thomson-CSF and GEC-Marconi.

In January 1998, he was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Thomson-CSF group, now called Thales. He resigned from this position in May 2009, as a consequence of a change in shareholding.

Board Mandates

Mr Ranque is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Airbus SE.

He is also President of the French Corporate Governance Committee (AFEP/MEDEF).

He has been a member of Compagnie de Saint-Gobain's Board of Directors since 2002 and a member of CMA-CGM's Board of Directors since 2010.

Since 2014 Mr Ranque has been the Chairman of Fondation de l'Ecole Polytechnique and has been elected a Member of Académie des Technologies.

He was a member of the Fonds Stratégique d'Investissement (FSI) Board of Directors between 2012 and 2013.

From 2010 to 2012 Mr Ranque was Chairman of the Board of Technicolor.He was Chairman of the Board of the Ecole des Mines ParisTech from 2001 to 2012 and Chairman of the Cercle de l’Industrie, an association which unites France’s biggest industrial companies, from 2002 to 2012.

He stepped down from the Board of CGG Veritas in 2012.

Mr Ranque was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Thales between 1998 and 2009.


Mr Ranque is an Officer of the Légion d'Honneur and a Commander of the National Order of Merit.

He has been awarded a CBE in the UK and is a member of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Download this bio as a pdf file

chairman mentors